STAR (Safety, Trust and Respect) Programme

What is it?

The STAR programme are specifically designed courses aimed at children, teenagers and young people to look at safety, trust and respect in relationships. To ensure the  topics covered are age appropriate, the programme is split into the following age categories; 4-6, 7-11, 11-13 and 14-25.

Topics which are covered on the STAR Programme include:

  • Feelings and Emotions
  • Building confidence and resilience
  • Respectful and Healthy Relationships
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Gender Stereotyping
  • Sexual Consent
  • Sexting
  • Pornography
  • Sexual Exploitation
  • Perception

Why is it needed?

The programme provides individuals with specific tools, knowledge and resources that are designed to prevent future abusive relationships. In addition to this, it informs individuals on how to safely leave an abusive relationship, if they find themselves entering one. Each stage of the programme explains domestic abuse and highlights to children and young people that domestic abuse is not their fault. Individuals are also encouraged to explore their feelings and emotions, and to rebuild any healthy relationships within their family.

‘I still get angry, but when I do I don’t react the same, or say horrible things and I calm down quicker’ – Boy, age 14.